On the case of the date of birth of India’s Army Chief, one of the Supreme Court judges is reported to have remarked, “Wise people are those who move with the winds”. I tried to find out if this was a quotation from the Bible, as books like Proverbs and Ecclesiastes have numerous references to wisdom as well as the wind. But with Google search, the nearest I came to was this song titled “Move with the Wind” sung by an American rock band named Mudhoney:

Water is wet
And rocks are hard
But the wind, my friend
Does what it wants…

So, I move with the wind
I move with the wind
If I move at all…

The wise king Solomon, however, had this advice to give in the Book of Ecclesiastes (verse 11:4 NIV): “Whoever watches the wind will not plant; whoever looks at the clouds will not reap.” It is futile for a farmer to wait for those elusive optimum weather conditions, or for anyone else to wait for that perfect moment in life which never comes. If there is something to be done, then it has to be done regardless of the wind. Therein lies wisdom.

